• Frans Basson

GEM4D on-line tutorials

The second on-line tutorial occurred on Tuesday 1 September and is available under videos or from here - thanks to the attendees for a great discussion! The following topics were covered in the times slots indicated:

  1. Drillholes: 0.00 to 7:10

  2. Filter and iso-surface composite data: 7:10 to 10:35

  3. Drillholes discussion: 10:35 to 16:35

  4. ERF calculations: 16:40 to 22:57

  5. HR calculations: 23:00 to 34:30

  6. Discussion HR: 34:30 to 36:55

  7. Open pit reconciliation: 36:55 to 48:15

  8. Clippings: 48:15 to 50:55

  9. Splitting meshes: 51:20 to 53:47

  10. Mesh data to CSV: 53:47 to 54:50

If you visit the videos directly on YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=UUTgU1WB9DSyEOdsK1o2RCCQ), the topics are listed below the videos, with hyperlinks that directly jump to the correct time window.


The next on-line GoToMeeting session:

Perth time (UTC+8): Tuesday 10 November @ 9 pm in Perth

  • Which would be earlier on Tuesday 10 November for most other countries (6 am in California, 7 am in Colorado, 11 am in Sao Paulo, 1 pm in Accra, 2 pm in London, 5 pm in Moscow).

  • Use https://www.thetimezoneconverter.com to work out your local time

GoToMeeting link: https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/858234717

Duration: ~60 minutes

The following topics will be discussed:

  1. Simplifying meshes for numerical modelling and other uses: ~15 minutes.

  2. Structural geology (mapping and building warped surfaces): ~15 minutes.

  3. Answer any other questions: ~30 minutes

If you have specific questions that you would like me to cover, please mail them to mail@basrock.net or ask questions during the session.

Below is a warped surface created from Mapping-data. Marker-data could also be used, but provide a different outcome as orientation information is not available. The warped surface creation is automated, and creating these surfaces from a few Markers/Mapping data points take seconds. Never update a mesh, but always update the data points, as creating these meshes are trivial and quick - we will discuss further during the on-line session.


Hope to meet you on the call, keep well.


590 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GEM4D, Trajec3D and PicSure were updated and the new versions will be expiring on 1 January 2023. Trajec3D and PicSure were updated with the latest versions of the third-party components, which requir

SOFTWARE FOR GEOTECHS